Important COVID-19 Information

For all University updates and resources regarding COVID-19, please visit
Board of Trustees

Board of Trustees

John Allbery web.jpg John Allbery '80
Elected 2018
Independent Corporate Director
Denver, CO
Drew Bagley Drew Bagley
Elected 2016
Principal Consultant, Flywheel Education

Orlando, FL                                                                                                    


Rich Bartlett Richard A. Bartlett '88
Elected 2007
Principal & Co Chairman, Lone Peak Capital  and Chairman, CD2 Learning LLC
Overland Park, KS
P.E.Beans Patrick E. Beans '79
Elected 2007
Chief Financial Officer, Mead Lumber Company

Lincoln, NE                                                                   
Bruce Bergland Black and White Headshot
Bruce Berglund '88
Elected 2019
Founder and President, Donor By Design (DBD Group)
Palatine, IL


AnnCahill Ann Songster Cahill '72
Elected 2011
Educator & Community Philanthropist

St. Louis, MO
don campbell Donald M. Campbell '61
Elected 2011
Principal, Partners for Growth Managers
San Francisco, CA
B. Cole Barbara R. Cole M.D. '63
Elected 2008
(Retired) Director of Pediatric Nephrology
Mount Pleasant, SC
Headshot of John Cox John R. Cox '83
Elected 2018
Chief Credit Officer
Omaha, NE
  Vernon Daniels J.D. '78
Elected 2006
Judge, Douglas County
Omaha, NE
K.E. Fridrich Kenneth E. Fridrich '59
Elected 1969
(Retired) Managing Director, Marketing-Pension Services,
The Principal Financial Group
Omaha, NE
Headshot of Susan Fritz Susan Fritz, Ph.D 
Elected 2017-19; 2020-
Executive Vice President and Provost, Dean of the Graduate College
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Crete, NE
J.M. Gaiashkibos Judi gaiashkibos '00L, '07A
Elected 2012
Executive Director
Nebraska Commission of Indian Affairs

Lincoln, NE
T. Ganzel Toni Ganzel, M.D.
Elected 2005
Dean, School of Medicine
Professor of Surgery and Otolaryngology,
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Louisville, KY
R.C Gibson Richard C. "Rick" Gibson '57
Elected 1998
CEO, Agro International Inc.
Council Bluffs, IA
Kim Heier Kim Heier '87,  '05A
Elected 2017
Former Vice President for Student Leadership, Doane College

Sedona, AZ
D. Held Dick Held '70 
Elected 2007
Real Estate Investor
Los Angeles, CA

J. Renner Hood

Jane Renner Hood Ph.D. '66
Elected 2011
(Retired) Executive Director of the Nebraska Humanities Council
Lincoln, NE
D.L. Jackman Daniel L. Jackman '89 (Vice Chair)
Elected 2006
Director, BDA International Pte Ltd.
Troy Kanter Troy Kanter '90
Elected 2005-2008, 2009-
Private Investor, Former President, Kenexa, Inc.
Lincoln, NE                                                                                                      


J. Keck Reverend Jim Keck, Ph.D.
Elected 2011
Sr. Minister, 1st Plymouth Congregational Church (UCC)

Lincoln, NE
Jody Beed King.jpg
Jody Beed King '85
Elected 2020
Vice President and Director of Financial Planning, Fiduciary Trust Company 
Beverly, MA
Lonnie Mahrt web.jpg Lonnie Mahrt ’86
Elected 2018
Senior Vice President, Head of Customer Communications Management, CSG

Fremont, NE
Al Moore     Allen Moore '73 
Elected 2015

Past President/Investment Consultant
Smith Hayes Financial Services Corporation

Lincoln, NE
Headshot of Carrie Morton Carrie Morton '98
Elected 2019
Actuary, Principal Financial Group
Mark Mulkey Mark Mulkey  M.D. '82
Elected 2017
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon
Mason City Clinic

Mason City, IA
Bill Pallett Bill Pallett  Ph.D. '71
Elected 2018
(Retired) President, The Individual Development and Educational Assessment Center (IDEA)
Manhattan, KS
A.Petersen Allison Petersen '78 (Secretary)
Elected 1982-1994, 2004-

Walton, NE
E.E. Sanchez Enrique E. Sanchez '74
Elected 2005
(Retired) Executive Manager, Purchasing, Warehousing, and Inventories
Division of the Panama Canal Authority
Rep. de Panama
P. Schelstraete Paul Schelstraete, J.D. '70
Elected 2007 
President, City Bank and Trust Co.
Crete, NE
Charles "Chuck" Shoemaker
Charles "Chuck" Shoemaker J.D. '73
Elected 2014
Of Counsel
Sullivan, Shoemaker, P.C., L.L.O.
Hastings, NE
Smith Jill Jill Smith,  J.D '74  (Chair)
Elected 1997

(Retired) General Counsel, Mayo Clinic
Eden Prairie, MN
Tony Sorrentino Tony Sorrentino J.D.
Elected 2016
General Counsel, Silverstone Group

Omaha, NE                                                                                                   


Amy Vertin Amy Vertin M.D. '95 
Elected 2015
Emergency Department Medical Director
Crete Area Medical Center

Crete, NE 
M.A. Weston Michael A. Weston, '93
Elected 2010
Agency Field Specialist, State Farm Insurance
Lincoln, NE

The Board of Trustees meet three times a year with meetings occurring in the Fall, Winter, and Spring.