Meet Dr. Roger Hughes

Roger Hughes first joined the Doane family in 1979. He returned to campus as our 13th president in June 2021 after 40 years of learning, leadership and love of the Tiger community.

Dr. Roger
Doane Tiger statue on campus

Board of Trustees

Doane University’s Board of Trustees is an independent elected body that oversees implementation and prioritization of the strategic plan. They meet three times each year.

Board of Trustees
John Allbery '80
Elected 2018
Independent Corporate Director
Denver, CO
Richard A. Bartlett '88
Elected 2007
Chair, Technology and Innovation Committee
Principal & Co Chairman Lone Peak Capital and Chairman, CD2 Learning LLC
Overland Park, KS
Patrick E. Beans '79
Elected 2007
Amandla, LLC

Lincoln, NE

Bruce Berglund '88
Elected 2019
Founder and President, Donor By Design (DBD Group)

Palatine, IL


Ann Songster Cahill '72
Elected 2011
Educator & Community Philanthropist

St. Louis, MO
Donald M. Campbell '61
Elected 2011
Partners for Growth Managers

San Francisco, CA
Barbara R. Cole M.D. '63
Elected 2008
(Retired) Director of Pediatric Nephrology
Mount Pleasant, SC
Kenneth E. Fridrich '59
Elected 1969
(Retired) Managing Director, Marketing-Pension Services,
The Principal Financial Group
Omaha, NE
Susan Fritz Ph.D.
Elected 2017-19; 2020-
Chair, Building and Grounds Committee
(Retired) Emerita Executive Vice President and Provost, Dean of the Graduate College
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Crete, NE

Toni Ganzel M.D.
Elected 2005
Chair, Academic Affairs Committee
Dean, School of Medicine
Professor of Surgery and Otolaryngology,
University of Louisville School of Medicine

Louisville, KY

Richard C. "Rick" Gibson '57
Elected 1998
Chair, Advancement Committee
CEO, Agro International Inc.
Council Bluffs, IA
Kim Heier '87, '05A
Elected 2017
Chair, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee
Former Vice President for Student Leadership, Doane College

Sedona, AZ
Dick Held '70 
Elected 2007
Real Estate Investor
Los Angeles, CA

Daniel L. Jackman '89 (Vice Chair)
Elected 2006
Chair, Audit and Business Committee
Director, BDA International Pte Ltd.

Troy Kanter '90
Elected 2005-2008, 2009-
Chair, Enrollment Services Committee
Private Investor, Former President, Kenexa, Inc.
Lincoln, NE
Reverend Jim Keck
Elected 2011
Sr. Minister, 1st Plymouth Congregational Church (UCC)

Lincoln, NE

Jody King '85
Elected 2020
Vice President and Director of Financial Planning, Fiduciary Trust Company

Beverly, MA

Lonnie Mahrt ’86
Elected 2018
(Retired) Senior Vice President, Head of Customer Communications Management, CSG

Fremont, NE
Allen Moore '73 
Elected 2016
Chair, Investment Committee
(Retired) President/Investment Consultant
Smith Hayes Financial Services Corporation

Lincoln, NE
Carrie Morton '98
Elected 2019
Principal Financial Group

Waukee, IA
Mark Mulkey M.D. '82
Elected 2017
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgeon
Mason City Clinic

Mason City, IA
Bill Pallett Ph.D. '71
Elected 2018
(Retired) President, The Individual Development and Educational Assessment Center (IDEA)

Manhattan, KS
Preston Renshaw
Preston Renshaw
Enrique E. Sanchez '74
Elected 2005
(Retired) Executive Manager, Purchasing, Warehousing, and Inventories
Division of the Panama Canal Authority
Rep. de Panama
Paul Schelstraete, J.D. '70 (Chair)
Elected 2007 
President, City Bank and Trust Co.
Crete, NE
dick shoemaker

Dick Shoemaker '72
Elected 2022
Pinpoint Holdings
Cambridge, NE

Jill Smith,  J.D '74
Elected 1997
(Retired) General Counsel, Mayo Clinic
Eden Prairie, MN
Tony Sorrentino J.D.
Elected 2016
Chair, Governance and Nominations Committee
General Counsel, Silverstone Group
Omaha, NE
betsy tonninges

Betsy Tonniges Ed.D. '06, '08E, '11E
Elected 2022
Alumni Council Representative
Primrose of Lincoln Wilderness Hills

Lincoln, NE 

Amy Vertin M.D. '95 
Elected 2015
Chair, Student Affairs Committee
Emergency Department Medical Director
Crete Area Medical Center

Crete, NE 


The Board of Trustees meet three times a year with meetings occurring in the Fall, Winter, and Spring. 

Emeriti Trustees

Jack E. Barker, J.D. ('61), 1996-2012, President (Retired), Mountain States Employers Council (Retired), Littleton, CO
Donn Crilly, M.D. ('50), 1980-2019, Vascular Surgeon (Retired), Superior, Nebraska
Vernon Daniels ('78), 2006-2022, Juvenile Court Judge, Omaha, Nebraska
Jacob H. Dering, 1982-2008, Pharmacist, (Retired), Crete, NE
Donald F. Dillon, 1988-2007, Chairman, Fiserv, Lincoln, NE
George A. Drake, Ph.D., 1995-2014, Emeritus President/Professor, Grinnell College, Grinnell, IA
Melvin E. Emeigh ('58), 1977-2001, Allstate Insurance, Sierra Vista, AZ
George F. Haddix, Ph.D. ('62), 1999-2014, Member/Manager Riverton Management Resources, LLC, Ralston, NE
Edward G. Heilman, J.D. ('67), 1989-2012, Attorney at Law, Palm Desert, CA
Ken E. James ('69), 1989-2017, Consultant, Hewitt Associates (Retired), Sunset, SC
Eugene A. Klingler, Jr. M.D. ('57),1976-2016, Surgeon; Medical Director, Manhattan Ambulatory Surgical Hospital, Manhattan, KS
Linda Mann, Ph.D., 2001-2007, Dean (Retired), College of Communication and Fine Arts, Grossmont College, Hillsboro, OR
Kenneth J. McCumber ('68), 1999-, Senior. Vice President-Sales (Retired), Airborne Express, Bend, OR
Dennis E, Nelson ('67), 1992-2015, DENCO Group, Marblehead, MA
John Nelson, 1992-2015, Chairman, SilverStone Group, Inc., Council Bluffs, IA
Kim M. Robak, J.D., 1995-2012, Partner, Ruth Mueller and Robak, LLC, Lincoln, NE
William E. Shoemaker ('68), 1975-2004, Private Investor, Cambridge, NE
Peter Sura ('66), 1979-1996, Senior Management ABN AMRO Bank of Amsterdam (Retired), Konstanz, Germany
John M. Vasak, Ph.D. ('67), 1997-2013, Director, (Retired) Division Operations, the MITRE Corp.,(Retired) Vienna, VA
Michael Weston ('93), 2010-2022, State Farm Insurance Companies, Lincoln, Nebraska
Lois Weyers ('67), 2004-2017, Educator, Green Bay Public Schools (Retired), DePere, WI
Earl L. Wright, 1987-2010, President and CEO, AMG National Trust Bank, NA, Englewood, CO

Leadership Team

Made up of key administrators and university leaders, the leadership team provides collaboration across Doane’s residential and non-residential campuses and online platforms.

derek bierman

Derek Bierman

Chief Information Officer
Lorie Cook-Benjamin

Lorie Cook-Benjamin

Chief Academic Officer
John Frost

John Frost

Vice President of Enrollment Management and Marketing
Marty Fye

Marty Fye

Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Judy Kawamoto

Judy Kawamoto

Vice President of Student Experience

Linda Scholting

VP for Business and Finance/CFO
Jenei Skillet

Jenei Skillett

Senior Executive Assistant to the President
Luis Sotelo

Luis Sotelo

Vice President for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
Mark Wateska

Mark Wateska

Director of Athletics
Kris Williams

Kristopher Williams

Director of Institutional Effectiveness
Anne Ziola

Anne Ziola

Director of Human Resources

Meet our Deans

Doane University has four colleges: Arts & Sciences, Business, Education and the School of Innovative Learning

Pedro Maligo
Pedro Maligo

Pedro Maligo

Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Jennifer Bossard
Jennifer Bossard

Jennifer Bossard

Dean of the College of Business
Tim Frey
Tim Frey

Tim Frey

Dean of the College of Education