School Records Fall at Home Meet

The Tigers hit six NAIA automatic qualifying marks and set two school records on Saturday during the Scott Nisely Memorial Track Classic.

Maurice Smith hit an automatic qualifying mark on his way to breaking the school record in the long jump.  He jumped 23-10.25, breaking the previous mark of 23-09.25 set by Jeremy Buckner in 1994.

Sufian Kimo set a new school record in the 3000 meter run with a time of 8:49.66.  He topped Ben DeLay's mark set in 2006 by 3.5 seconds.  Kimo's mark meets the provisional qualifying standard.

Paulvince Oboun won the 55 meter dash in a time of 0:06.35.  Greg Torres won the 1000 meter run with a time of 2:30.13.  Both have automatically qualified for the NAIA meet.

Zach Witt finished third with an automatic qualifying time of 0:07.84 in the 55 meter hurdles.

Dave Craven won the high jump with an automatic NAIA mark of 6-08.00.  Jared Schuurmans finished second in the shot put with an automatic mark of 51-01.50.

Lance Foster won the 400 meter dash in a time of 0:50.04.  Matt Hollman claimed the 600 meter run title with a time of 1:23.26.

The Tiger 4x400 and 4x800 relay teams placed in first.  The 4x400 team ran a time of 3:26.68 while the 4x800 ran a time of 8:15.39.

Doane will travel to Storm Lake, Iowa, to participate in the Buena Vista Invite on Friday, February 9.

Interested in Doane? Let us know.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.