Important COVID-19 Information

For all University updates and resources regarding COVID-19, please visit
Keeney Breaks Decathlon Record

Keeney Breaks Decathlon Record

The Tiger men dominated in the field events, winning five of the eight, at the Doane Relays on Friday and Saturday afternoon. However, the top performance came in the men's decathlon where Rob Keeney destroyed the school record and set an all-time GPAC-best mark.

Keeney posted a mark of 7,031 points in the decathlon, becoming the first athlete in conference history to go over 7,000 points. He broke the school record held by John Brockhaus. That mark was 6,867 points and was set in 1992. He posted a provisional NAIA qualifying mark in the high jump with a leap of 6-07.00. He leads the NAIA by nearly 200 points.

In the men's field events, Andrew Christen posted a provisional mark in the high jump with a mark of 6-07.00.

Nate Teten won the pole vault as he posted a height of 15-09.00, a NAIA automatic mark. He won the event by nearly two feet.

Brian Hubbert won the triple jump with a provisional mark of 46-00.50. Chase Trecek took the shot put title with a provisional mark of 50-10.25.

In the discus, Alvin Voss won with a throw of 162-11, 10 feet better than second place. His throw met the automatic NAIA qualifying standard. Jacob Clouse hit a provisional mark in the hammer throw with a toss of 172-03.

The javelin title went to Micah Marvin has he hit a personal best throw of 204-00, an automatic NAIA mark. Ben Wolfe also set a personal best by 30-some feet as he posted a provisional mark of 188-05.

On the track, the Tigers had a pair of double-winners. Ben McCaleb took the 100m and 200m titles. In the 100m, he hit an automatic mark of 10.60 while posting a provisional mark of 21.54 in the 200m. Thomas Hodges hit a provisional mark in the 100m with a time of 10.74.

Virgil Mitchell won the 110m and 400m hurdles. In the 110m hurdles, he set a stadium and meet record with a time of 14.15. He won the finals round with a time of 14.58. In the 400m hurdles, he posted a NAIA automatic time of 53.16.

Edwin Ronoh won the 800m run with a time of 1:54.73. Ronoh also ran a leg on the winning 4x800m relay team. Other runners were Jory Pflasterer, Zach Christensen and Alex Reynolds.

On the women's side, Halie Smith won the 3000m steeplechase with a time of 11:56.83.

Ale Cano won the pole vault with an automatic mark of 11-09.75. Leah Petersen posted a provisional mark of 11-05.75.

Whitney Collins hit a provisional mark in the hammer throw with a toss of 159-08. Ashton Henderson won the javelin with a throw of 124-00.

Jillian Ourada took the heptathlon title with 4,673 points. Her best mark came in the 100m hurdles where she posted an automatic NAIA qualifying time of 14.66.