Journalism Students Earn Golden Leaf Awards

Students from Doane University’s journalism and media department were recognized with nine different awards at the Nebraska Collegiate Media Association’s 2017 Golden Leaf Awards, hosted at Concordia University last weekend.


Award winners include:


  • Doane Owl editor in chief Bayley Bischof ’17 - first and third place - Hard News/Spot News

  • Doaneline multimedia coordinator Cole Bauer ’19 - second place - In-Depth Reporting

  • Editors of The Doane Owl* - second place - Overall Layout and Design

  • Owl managing editor Lauren Wagner ’19- second place and honorable mention - Digital Feature, third place - Feature Writing

  • Staff writer Austin Plourde ’18 - second place - Hard News/Spot News

  • Cassandra Kennedy ’16 - third place - Feature Photography


*Editors of the Doane Owl include: Bayley Bischof, Lauren Wagner, Haley Nast ’18, Anna Flores ’19, Jacob Duhey ’18, Catria West-Warren ’18, Aspen Green ’18, Jess Eddmeiri ’18, Caleb Rezac ’19, and Dylan Lamb ’17.


The Golden Leaf Awards are handed out annually by the Nebraska Collegiate Media Association, a group of small colleges and universities throughout Nebraska that promote journalism and student media work.


NCMA members include: Chadron State College, Concordia University, Doane University, Hastings College, Nebraska Wesleyan University, Peru State College, and Wayne State College. NCMA’s contest for broadcast awards was cancelled this year.


Doane Student Media has won three national awards in recent years - two for 1014 Magazine and one for Doaneline.



Interested in Doane? Let us know.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.