Franzen Named Regional Coach-of-the-Year

The American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) announced on Tuesday the 2011 Regional Coaches-of-the-Year for the NCAA and NAIA levels. At the NAIA level, Doane College Head Coach Matt Franzen has been named Co-Coach-of-the-Year for Region 4. He is joined by Morningside coach Steve Ryan for the honor. The Tigers and Mustangs were the top two teams in the GPAC this year. Coach Matt Franzen

Franzen's guidance help the Tigers go from 3-7 a year ago to 8-2 this past season and a No. 20 ranking in the final regular season poll. Doane had not posted a winning season since the 2002 campaign.

The 2011 season was highlighted by many team and individual marks. The Tigers went undefeated at home this past year for the first time since 1997. The last time Doane won as many as eight games in a season was also in 1997 when that team won 11. Throughout the season, Doane players were selected 10 times to player-of-the-week status for offense, defense or special teams.

Post-season honors have been plentiful for the Tigers as well. Twenty of Franzen's players were named to the All-GPAC list, including the GPAC Offensive Player-of-the-Year. Announced on Monday, four players were named Academic All-Americans by Capital One and CoSIDA, a first in school history. Honors from the NAIA for All-American and Scholar-Athlete will be announced later this month.

Franzen is a 1994 Doane College graduate and was an All-American for the Tiger football team in 1993 as an offensive lineman.

Below are the regional coaches-of-the-year as selected by the AFCA for NCAA and NAIA.

2011 AFCA Regional Coaches of the Year
Football Bowl Subdivision
Region 1: Dabo Swinney, Clemson University
Region 2: Les Miles, Louisiana State University
Region 3: Kevin Sumlin, University of Houston
Region 4: Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State University
Region 5: David Shaw, Stanford University

Football Championship Subdivision
Region 1: Rob Ambrose, Towson University
Region 2: Jeff Monken, Georgia Southern University
Region 3: Dean Hood, Eastern Kentucky University
Region 4: Craig Bohl, North Dakota State University
Region 5: Willie Fritz, Sam Houston State University

Division II
Region 1: Raymond Monica, Kutztown University*
Region 2: Ron Roberts, Delta State University
Region 3: Keith Otterbein, Hillsdale College
Region 4: Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University
Region 5: John Wristen, Colorado State University-Pueblo

Division III
Region 1: Sherman Wood, Salisbury University
Region 2: Jim Margraff, Johns Hopkins University
Region 3: Steve Mohr, Trinity University (Texas)
Region 4: Larry Kehres, University of Mount Union*
Region 5: Stan Zweifel, University of Dubuque

Region 1: Bill Cronin, Georgetown College (Ky.) &
          Chris Oliver, Lindsey Wilson College (tie)
Region 2: Ted Karras, Jr., Marian University (Ind.)
Region 3: Jonathan Quinn, MidAmerica Nazarene University*
Region 4: Matt Franzen, Doane College &
          Steve Ryan, Morningside College (tie)
Region 5: Mike Cochran, Southern Nazarene University

Interested in Doane? Let us know.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.