Doane Brings Home KCACTF Honors


The Doane Theatre Department won numerous awards at the 2011 Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival (Region V) at Iowa State University January 16-22.

Twenty-six Doane students participated at the festival this year with (and against) 1,600 other theatre students from all colleges and universities in Nebraska, Kansas, Iowa, South Dakota, North Dakota, Minnesota, and Missouri. Many Doane students took home significant honors, including:

Josh Rajaee, who won first place in the Barbizon Award for Scenery (realized scenic design) for "The Odyssey" with a paid trip to Washington D.C. this spring to compete with seven other of the nation's top student designers (grad and undergrad.)

Chet Miller, who won the Meritorious Award in Sound Design for "Dead Man's Cellphone."

Chris Owens, who was selected for the Stage Directors and Choreographers Society (SDC) National Fellowship Scene Audition.

Rebecca Wilson, who was selected for Directing a Concert Reading of a National Playwriting Program (NPP).

Katy Jo Anderson, who was cast in the National KCACTF Award-Winning Play Concert Reading of "Las Hermanas Padilla" by Tony Meneses.

Joe Anderson, 
who was cast in "Fallen" by Tyler Walton as a part of the Ten-Minute Play Festival.

Joe AndersonCourtney Wood, and Laura Jacob, who received numerous callbacks at the Professional Auditions out of hundreds of actors.

In the Irene Ryan Acting Competition: Courtney Wood (w/ Kevin Anderson); Allison Van Driel (w/ MiKayla Northup);  Mike Ulmer (w/ Bre Carodine);  James Thompson (w/ Laura Jacob); Kaley Wieser(w/ Derrik Castillo); and Jimmy Reynolds (w/ Laura Jacob) had excellent showings in the Preliminary Rounds of 295 actors.

Beth Hein participated with great skill in the STAGE MANAGEMENT FELLOWSHIP competition ... stage managing the Costume Parade on the Closing Night.

Bailey Peyton participated for the first time in the REGION V AWARDS in Costume Design with her unrealized design for "The Hobbit."

Through regional and national festivals, KCACTF participants celebrate the creative process; see one another's work, and share experiences and insights within the community of theater artists. The KCACTF honors excellence of overall production and offers student artists individual recognition through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing, and design.

Interested in Doane? Let us know.

By submitting this form, you accept the Mollom privacy policy.