Menu Flyout

Doane IINSPIRE LSAMP Program

The Iowa Illinois Nebraska STEM Partnership for Innovation in Research and Education (IINSPIRE) is an alliance among sixteen state, private, and community colleges in Iowa, Illinois, and Nebraska, working together to broaden the participation of underrepresented minorities in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) education the Midwest.   IINSPIRE is a part of the national Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP), a National Science Foundation program seeking to increase the number of underrepresented minorities majoring in STEM fields.

The Doane College IINSPIRE LSAMP Program is focusing on

  • encouraging interest in STEM majors by underrepresented minorities
  • facilitating the transition from high school and community colleges to science and mathematics programs at Doane
  • helping students gain expertise and experience in conducting scientific research
  • providing students access to mentoring opportunities

Campus Contacts:

Sharmin Sikich, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, IINSPIRE Campus Director, 402.826.8663/sharmin.sikich@doane.edu

Peg Hart, Associate Professor of Mathematics, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel, 402.826.8603/peg.hart@doane.edu

Wilma Jackson,  Director of Multicultural Services, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel, 402.826.8620/wilma.jackson@doane.edu

Carrie Petr,  Director of the Hansen Leadership Program, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel,  402.826.8271/carrie.petr@doane.edu

Karen Sookram,  Director Doane Learning Center, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel,  402.826.8581/karen.sookram@doane.edu

Russ Souchek, Professor of Environmental Science, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel,   402.826.8238/russ.souchek@doane.edu

Chris Wentworth, Professor of Physics, IINSPIRE Advisory Panel, 402.826.8257/chris.wentworth@doane.edu