Menu Flyout

Welcome to the Doane College Community Concert Band for 2015-16


Doane College Community Concert Band

If you are interested, please sign-up at:

Community Concert Band Sign-Up Form

Three concert performance opportunities for community instrumentalists throughout the school year.

The Community Concert Band is open to instrumentalists high school age or older. In addition to community members, the Community Concert Band will consist of several Doane students and Wind faculty. You are free to perform with us on one or all three concerts. It would be important to attend three of the four rehearsals for each concert. Each concert will be preceded by four Monday night rehearsals, rehearsing from 7 p.m. to 9 p.m. at Doane College.

If you need an instrument we will help you locate one to use.

If you have not played in a while, that’s OK! We would love to have you resurrect your musical talent.


If you need an instrument:
You can indicate that on the interest form or you can e-mail
Can’t make every practice?
If you can make the majority of the practices, you’re in!
Concert Dress:
  • Black shirt or blouse
  • Black pants and shoes
  • Women may wear black dresses

There is no membership/registration fee to play in the Community Concert Band.

The Community Concert Band will be conducted by Dr. Jay W. Gilbert, Director of Bands at Doane College.

Concert 1: Sunday, October 11, 3 p.m., Heckman Auditorium

Theme: Heritage Concert
Description: A concert of class band repertoire including a Sousa march.

Rehearsal Schedule:
Monday, September 14
Monday, September 21
Monday, September 28
Monday, October 5

Concert 2: Doane Christmas Festival, December 5, 7:30 p.m. and December 6, 2:00 p.m., Heckman Auditorium

Doane Christmas Festival:

In this special concert, the Community Concert Band will perform 2 to 3 pieces and also accompany the choir in the opening and the finale.

Rehearsal Schedule:
Monday, November 9
Monday, November 16
Monday, November 23
Monday, November 30

Special rehearsals with the choir
Sunday, November 29, 7-9 p.m.
Friday, December 4, 4-6:30 p.m.
Saturday, December 5, 9 a.m. - 1 p.m. (an overflow performance-dress rehearsal)

Spring Schedule TBA

We will discuss spring at our first meeting